Nürburgring Langstrecken-Serie

Welcome to the ‘Green Hell’!

The Nürburgring Langstrecken-Serie (NLS), formerly known as VLN Langstreckenmeisterschaft Nürburgring, was established in 1977. It is the only race series that has all its rounds at the legendary Nürburgring in the German Eifel region. The races usually have starting grids with over 100 cars competing in various classes, from the smallest touring cars up to GT machinery.

Traditionally, the championship rounds are using a combination of the Nürburgring’s Grand Prix circuit and the Nordschleife, the world’s longest permanent race track. Just the Nordschleife in itself, with a length of around 20 kilometres incorporating 73 corners, some of them extremely demanding, set any motorsport fan’s pulse racing and requires all the skills from the drivers. The total track length for the NLS rounds amounts to 24.358 kilometres. All rounds are held over a duration of four hours with the six-hour season highlight as the only exception. 

The race series’ history of over 40 years is closely linked to the Mercedes-AMG brand that ranks among the series’ most successful manufacturers with 62 overall wins, 108 group victories and 239 class wins since 1977.


2020 NLS season

In the 2020 season of the Nürburgring Endurance Series that had to be reduced to five rounds, the Mercedes-AMG GT3 and the Mercedes-AMG GT4 proved their potential as they had already done in the impressive previous season. In total, the Customer Racing Teams secured a pair of overall wins and four overall podium finishes as well as three pole positions. The classification of the coveted ROWE Speed Trophy also reflected these achievements: Mercedes-AMG Team GetSpeed ended up second overall while Mercedes-AMG Team HRT added another top position with fifth place overall in its inaugural season. Maro Engel (GER), meanwhile, secured third place in the final drivers’ standings of the SP9 Pro class.

In the various classes, the Customer Racing Teams also proved to be strong: eventually, the Mercedes-AMG GT3 scored one victory and a podium finish in the SP9-Am category as well as two additional SP9 Pro-Am podium finishes (all achieved by GetSpeed Performance). Moreover, the #155 Mercedes-AMG GT4 of the BLACK FALCON team also had a first-class season. In five participations, the team from Meuspath near the Nürburgring racked up five class wins, concluding the 2020 season unbeaten in its category. Accordingly, Stephan Rösler (GER) and Tristan Viidas (EST) sealed the SP8T drivers’ title in equal manner.

Calendar 2020 NLS season


Race duration


27 June


51. Adenauer ADAC Rundstrecken-Trophy

11 July


60. ADAC Reinoldus-Langstreckenrennen

12 July


52. ADAC Barbarossapreis

1 August


43. RCM DMV Grenzlandrennen

29 August


ROWE 6h ADAC Ruhr-Pokal-Rennen