Total 24 Hours of Spa

The world’s biggest GT3 race

With the Total 24 Hours of Spa from 22nd-25th October, the motorsport world is awaiting an undisputed highlight of the international GT3 race calendar. In its 72nd running, the marathon event, also the season highlight of the Intercontinental GT Challenge (IGTC) and the GT World Challenge Europe (GTWCE), has again assembled almost the entire ‘who is who’ of international sports car racing. A total of 56 GT3 cars will be lining up on the grid for the Belgian endurance racing classic at the seven kilometres long circuit that, with its combination of extremely tight and fast corners as well as up and downhill sections, resembles a unique roller coaster. Especially Eau Rouge, a high-speed corner and uphill section, has become a real legend over the years.

With the spectacular class win for the 300 SEL 6.8 AMG, Mercedes-AMG already achieved a first milestone at Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps back in 1971. The race has been firmly established in AMG’s motorsport history ever since and has been a relevant and constant factor in the Customer Racing Programme, founded in 2010, for years. Traditionally, expectations for the Total 24 Hours of Spa are high: with three podium finishes in the past four years, the most recent track record of the performance and sports car brand from Affalterbach is impressive. After 2013, when the Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 beat the opposition, the next overall win is the goal for 2020. 

Mercedes-AMG Motorsport with a large line-up

Like last year already, a total of ten Mercedes-AMG GT3s will be participating in the 24-hour race at Spa-Francorchamps. Among the ten cars are two Mercedes-AMG GT3s with extended works support, run by AKKA ASP Team and Haupt Racing Team. Its drivers have been among the top class in GT endurance racing for years. The two GT3 cars, officially entered as Mercedes-AMG Team AKKA ASP and Mercedes-AMG Team HRT, will be racing in the Pro class with starting numbers 88 and 4 respectively. At the occasion of the tenth anniversary of Mercedes-AMG Customer Racing, the #4 car will be sporting a special anniversary livery for the race that, due to the current Covid-19 situation, will be held without spectators. The special colour scheme underlines the special significance that the 24-hour race at Spa-Francorchamps has for the Customer Racing Programme and the AMG brand. 

The two works-supported cars are by no means the only entries of the two teams: next to its Performance car, French AKKA ASP Team is also running the #89 (Silver) and the #87 (Pro-Am) cars, while Haupt Racing Team is aiming at a top result in the Silver Cup with its #5 car. Five further top teams from the world of GT racing will also be out on track with the Mercedes-AMG GT3 at Spa. Customer Racing Teams JP Motorsport (#111), RAM Racing (#74) and SPS automotive performance (#20) will be competing in the Pro-Am classification while HTP-Winward Motorsport (#84) and Madpanda Motorsport (#90) will be aiming to score Silver Cup points. 

Our Line-up








Mercedes-AMG GT3

Mercedes-AMG Team HRT

Vincent Abril (FRA)

Maro Engel (GER)

Luca Stolz (GER)



Mercedes-AMG GT3

Haupt Racing Team

Sergej Afanasiev (RUS)

Michele Beretta (ITA)

Hubert Haupt (GER)

Gabriele Piana (ITA)



Mercedes-AMG GT3

SPS automotive performance 

Dominik Baumann (AUT)

Colin Braun (USA)

George Kurtz (USA)

Valentin Pierburg (GER) 



Mercedes-AMG GT3

RAM Racing

Martin Konrad (AUT)

Callum MacLeod (GBR)

Tom Onslow-Cole (GBR)

Remon Vos (NED)



Mercedes-AMG GT3

HTP-WINWARD Motorsport

Indy Dontje (NED)

Philip Ellis (GBR)

Russell Ward (USA)



Mercedes-AMG GT3


Fabien Barthez (FRA)

Jean-Luc Beaubelique (FRA)

Thomas Drouet (FRA)

Jim Pla (FRA)



Mercedes-AMG GT3

Mercedes-AMG Team 

Timur Boguslavskiy (RUS)

Raffaele Marciello (ITA)

Felipe Fraga (BRA)



Mercedes-AMG GT3


Alex Fontana (SUI)

Benjamin Hites (CHI)

Lucas Légeret (SUI)



Mercedes-AMG GT3 

Madpanda Motorsport 

Patrick Assenheimer (GER)

Ezequiel Perez Companc (ARG)

Juuso Puhakka (FIN)

Ricardo Sanchez (MEX)



Mercedes-AMG GT3

JP Motorsport

Patryk Krupinski (POL)

Christian Klien (AUT)

Mathias Lauda (AUT)

Jens Liebhauser (AUT)

Total 24 Hours of Spa: Season highlight of the IGTC and the GT World Challenge Europe

The Total 24 Hours of Spa are not just a prestigious race as a stand-alone event, one that every team and every driver would really like to win. Participants at Spa are also competing for valuable points in the GT World Challenge Europe and the Intercontinental GT Challenge. These points are attributed based on the (intermediate) positions after six, twelve and 24 hours of racing. Especially in the GT World Challenge Europe, the Mercedes-AMG Customer Racing Teams have good perspectives: in the series’ overall standings, Timur Boguslavskiy (RUS) is leading from Raffaele Marciello (ITA) while AKKA ASP Team is currently second in the teams’ standings. Madpanda Motorsport and Ezequiel Perez Companc (ARG), meanwhile, are both in second place of their respective Silver Cup standings while SPS automotive performance is third in the Pro-Am category. Moreover, Boguslavskiy and his teammate Marciello are only one point down on the leading duo in the Endurance Cup and therefore still have excellent chances of winning the championship title. The same can be said for the IGTC manufacturers’ standings, in which Mercedes-AMG still has chances of securing the title.

The official test days of the endurance racing classic, during which drivers and teams were able to determine their current performance level and try out different set-ups in preparation for the multi-day race event, were promising: after a total of five sessions, Mercedes-AMG Teams HRT and AKKA ASP had three top three results as well as a first place. Moreover, the further Mercedes-AMG Customer Racing Teams, all competing in the Pro-Am class and the Silver Cup, achieved four additional top ten results and thus underlined their ambitions of a good class result.

The 24-hour event gets underway on Thursday, 22nd October, with free practice and the first qualifying sessions while the Super Pole on Friday will determine the final starting grid positions for the race on Saturday (see time schedule). 

Victory in 2013 and the ‘Grand Slam’ win

In the 65th running of the Total 24 Hours of Spa in the year 2013, Mercedes-AMG achieved a historic feat: with the 100th race win of an SLS AMG GT3 since the start of the Customer Racing Programme in 2010, the performance and sports car brand from Affalterbach was crowned as the winner at Spa-Francorchamps for the first time. After victories in the GT races at Dubai and Bathurst as well as the win at the Nürburgring, the success in the Belgian Ardennes marked the fourth title in a GT3 endurance racing classic within just one season. Maximilian Buhk, Maximilian Götz and Bernd Schneider (all GER) for HTP Motorsport cemented the so-called ‘Grand Slam’ in a thrilling race. With a time of 2m 21.861s, Schneider also drove the fastest race lap.